The Women’s Prize Live

Whenever I commit to attending any kind of social event, my initial excitement turns to regret as the day gets ever closer.  Why on earth would I choose to spend time with humans when I have so many beautiful books calling my name and pleading with me to be read next? However I have discovered one enormously significant exception to my reticence to spend time in public, and unsurprisingly enough it relates to literature. I have been lucky recently to attend many wonderful book-related events and they always lift my soul, none more so than the incredible Women’s Prize event held in London on Wednesday. Yes I had a 3 hour journey to get there; yes my back hurt the day after and I was probably quite tired and grumpy. (Ok, I definitely was).  But to spend a day surrounded by some of the most talented and inspirational folk I could ever be blessed to know was an honour I won’t be forgetting in a hurry. I wanted to share with you just a few highlights of a day that will stay with me for a long time to come.

  1. It’s hard to articulate exactly how welcoming and supportive the atmosphere was, but from the moment I entered the gates of Bedford Square Gardens (and despite the questionable weather) the human warmth was tangible.  I am a vocal advocate for the amazing things women can achieve when they support each other and this was quite frankly all the evidence I needed to support that argument. Friendships were being formed, appreciation being shared and people who arrived strangers found themselves enveloped into the arms of a community I felt proud to be a part of.  It was something very special.
  1. Being up close and personal to some true literary and feminist heroes was an incredible buzz, and I still can’t get over how friendly and open these talented women are when you approach them to say hello. From former Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard to the legend that is Helen Fielding, even the most famous names were clearly thrilled to be there. Everyone I approached had time to speak and – most amazingly – to show interest in me and who I was. It was something truly special. Shout out in particular to Aube Rey Lescure who made my absolute day by spending time chatting.  I was completely starstruck.
  1. It was also a joy to see so many other bloggers there on the day and put some names to faces I had never met before. These are women who I have connected with online and to continue these relationships in person was a true highlight. It cemented my belief that social media can be a power for good and that I am lucky to call these individuals friends. I was also incredibly pleased to see more men than I expected in attendance.  These are true allies to the feminist cause and should be celebrated.
  1. This will seem like a strange highlight but… the toilets!  I have never attended a festival or event like this where the temporary toilets were actually clean and inviting and didn’t make me feel sick even by the end of the day.  Kudos to whoever ensured our basic needs were met with style.
  1. Last but not least, the books themselves. Prior to the day I had read 5 of the 6 shortlisted novels but did not have time to read the non-fiction selections. After the mesmerising readings from the authors that evening, I will now be seeking all of them out to add to my TBR. This was a timely reminder for me that I very much enjoy reading books based on true experience, but that often they get lost in all the fiction I buy. I can’t wait to read them.

If anyone is considering whether to come next year, all I can say is DO IT.  I promise it’s absolute worth leaving your home and library behind, and you will get to spend time with some of the very best humans.  Thank you to everyone who organised this wonderful event and see you next year!

Author: Bookaholicbex

Book-nerd with a passion for all things literary. If only real life would stop getting in the way of reading...

Leave a comment