Cul-de-Sac

Call me narcissistic, but whenever I write a book review I link it in some way to my own life, usually because the very best writing will always speak to some part of my own experience. But today I find myself stumped, Bookaholics, reviewing a novel about a group of swingers (or wife-swappers, if you prefer), which is an activity I can honestly say I have never partaken of. I’ve had some strange neighbours, certainly, and occasionally some very attractive ones, but I’ve never been tempted to initiate the kind of activities the residents of Liz Crowe’s Cul-de-Sac are enjoying. This is a steamy tale of sexual craving, betrayal and lies that had me racing to the end as it reached its climax. I would recommend it to anyone seeking something a little bit different with a salacious undertone of fornication and deception.

When young parents Amelia and Michael find their dream home on Connelly Court, they are surprised to find it so easily within budget, and cannot wait to move in. Turns out the previous owner took an overdose in the bath tub, but the place has been remodelled and they soon forget the dark history behind their new house. The neighbours seem very keen to greet them, particularly Janice and Allen who are at the centre of every social event, and it isn’t long before they are invited to participate in activities of a more intimate nature. But all is not rosy in this carnally captivated cul-de-sac and things are spiralling out of control. Will the new residents be able to extricate themselves from the darkness and death that underpins the fun sexual overtones? Or will they succumb to the lure of eroticism all around them no matter the consequences that come with it?

You do need to suspend your disbelief somewhat to truly enjoy this novel, mainly because the residents of Connelly Court are so ridiculously horny that I swear there must be something in the water. The first half is more of a slow burn, building up the ground work for the increased pace of the second, which I genuinely found very engaging. Crowe writes incredibly well and develops characters which are well rounded and credible in their motivations. I did think the clues to what had happened could have been laid down sooner, but in fairness, there are a number of back stories to explore before that can be done and I enjoyed getting to know the residents of the cul-de-sac, at arm’s length at least. The book is sensual and suggestive without ever being brash or crude in content, and that is definitely an achievement given the topics at hand.

I chose this as a holiday read and certainly didn’t regret my decision – it kept me entertained whilst sipping cocktails in the sun. If you enjoy a steamy story that slow cooks into a web of deceit and lies, then this is the book for you.

However I may never look at my neighbours the same way again.

Author: Bookaholicbex

Book-nerd with a passion for all things literary. If only real life would stop getting in the way of reading...

4 thoughts on “Cul-de-Sac”

  1. I realized that I was remiss in commenting here (although I did on our Twitter-machine) but THANK YOU for giving my book a shot! I so admire your reviews and the recommendations you made, I feel honored that you even requested it, much less enjoyed it!

    THANK YOU from the bottom of my somewhat cynical lil’ Indie author’s heart.

    Liz

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment