Spirit Level

Somewhat ironically for an experienced book blogger, I often find myself describing something I’ve loved reading and failing to do it any justice whatsoever. For example, I adored Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt, yet somehow repeatedly struggle to provide an adequate synopsis when asked what it’s actually about (“There’s an octopus! And an older woman whose son died! And it’s brilliant!”). The more I have enjoyed reading a book, the worse this problem seems to get. So I am a little nervous about sharing with you the story of Spirit Level by Richy Craven, because whilst on paper there is no doubting the whole concept sounds slightly insane, I thought it was brilliant. This is an eminently readable, very funny and clever novel that I very much enjoyed, so let me try and do it the justice it deserves. Hold my beer.

Danny is a 20-something Irish lad at a bit of a dead end – both his career and his love life have stagnated and he has only recently come out of therapy. Then, as if things couldn’t get worse, he is involved in a horrific car accident with his best mate Nudge, and only one of them survives. Along with multiple injuries, Danny discovers one other lasting side effect from the  crash – a new found ability to see ghosts, specifically his very much newly dead best mate. Will the 2 of them be able to figure out why Nudge cannot cross over to the other side? Or will Danny be stuck with a spectral shadow for the rest of his living days?

Spirit Level is genuinely one of the funniest books I’ve read in a while, and I recognise how weird that sounds after explaining the morbidly macabre plot. Craven has created 2 protagonists who have exceptional levels of banter and it is that relationship that carries the narrative perfectly through to its climax. There are certain scenes that I could absolutely visual in a film or sitcom (the christening for Danny’s nephew is a superbly crafted and hilarious chapter) and I was thoroughly entertained by the mix of physical and verbal humour. None of us can really be sure what happens once we pass away and this books does raise questions about the after life, but don’t be fooled into thinking this is some existential exploration of what death really means – the themes are there of course, but the black comedy takes precedence. Even in the darker moments, a belly laugh is never far away.

Whilst this is hardly the best sales pitch for a novel I’ve loved, I’m hoping it has at least intrigued you enough to give it a go, as I promise you won’t be disappointed. Out in April, I highly recommend getting a copy ASAP.

Author: Bookaholicbex

Book-nerd with a passion for all things literary. If only real life would stop getting in the way of reading...

One thought on “Spirit Level”

  1. Yes, it is sometimes hard to write about a book you’ve totally adored. That should be recommendation enough, but obviously we know that people might need more convincing than just “I loved it so much, I can’t put it into words”! Anyway, this does sound both fun and funny and boy, I tell you, I need some humor in my life these days! Thanks, I put it on my wish list!

    Like

Leave a comment